Chassis Codes

The new Mini is known by several codes that differentiate the different body types. We've grouped them into two main groups; the 2002-06 cars we call the R53 cars. (We had to choose a code, so we picked the Cooper S, sportiest of the bunch.) The 2007-2013 cars are the R56 cars. All cars of the same group share body panels, suspension details, and lots more.


R50 - 2002-06 Cooper Coupe

R52 - 2005-08 Convertible (regular and S)

R53 - 2002-06 Cooper S Coupe

R55 - 2008-2014 Clubman and Clubman S

R56 - 2007-2013 Cooper and Cooper S Coupe

R57 - 2009+ Cooper and Cooper S, Convertible

R58 - 2012+ Coupy

R59 - 2012+ Roadster

R60 - 2010+ Countryman

R61 - 2013+ Paceman

F56 - 2014+ Cooper and Cooper S three-door hatch/hardtop

F55 - 2015+ Coop and Cooper S five-door

Take a moment to figure out which group your Mini falls into, and then you can use the color-coded icons throughout the site to quickly figure out whether a product or info page applies to your vehicle.